Mittlemoda, Micam’s young designers receive awards

Le sfilate di Mittelmoda

Two top prizes and some specific ones for handbags, shoes, accessories, sunglasses, knitwear, men and womenswear. And more: the special “Andrea Schmeidler” award, beside from two other prizes for sustainability and seasonless collection. These were the awards given on Monday at the closing of the Micam’s second day, to the contestants of the International Lab of Mittlemoda, now on its 26th edition and for the first time at the footwear fair.

The jury

Selecting the finalists from the 400 participants (from 14 countries) was a jury overlooked by Matteo Marzotto and made of sector’s experts and exponents of Confindustria Moda (fashion industrials) and the Italian National Chamber of Fashion: Fulvia Bacchi, CEO of Lineapelle and GM of UNIC – Italian Tanners, also took part. The jury selected the works and went through a process that identifies 25 finalists. Among the works presented, there was a vast number of digital projects, showcasing the change that’s taking place. The talent-filled finalists went through the final examination of the jury on Monday, and then waited for the awards ceremony that followed the catwalk show in which the creations were showcased.

The prize

The Mittelmoda prize represents an important occasion to raise awareness and build connections with the international schools of art and design, with the goal of identifying new talent and bring up the creativity they hold. The applause at Mittelmoda’s entry into Micam was very cheerful. Lectra is the main sponsor of the event, a giant in research for the fashion segment, together with the Italian National Chamber of Fashion, Sistema Moda Italia, TheOne Milano, Milano Unica, Benetton Group and Dondup.

The Winners

Top Prize Innovation (presented by Confindustria Moda e Fondazione Industrie cotone e lino): Kuan Wang (China)
Top Prize Creativity (Presented by Italian National Chamber of Fashion): Thmoulla Chrysostomou (Cyprus)
Special award Lectra (presented by Lectra): Alessandra Tacla (Brazil)
Special award Sustainability (presented by Dondup): Shirin Araghi (Germany)
Award for Bags & Shoes (presented by Micam): Sofia Scarponi (Italy)
Award for Menswear/Womenswear (presented by Sistema Moda Italia): Szymon Mrozek (Poland)
Special award Andreas SchmeidlerFederica Meyer (Italy)
Award for TheOneSeasonless (presented by TheOneMilano): Camilla Carrara (Italy)
Award for Textile and Materials (presented by MilanoUnica): Maitena Vega (Spain)
Award for Knitwear (presented by Benetton Group): Thomoulla Chrysostomou (Cyprus)
Award for Accessori (presented by Mido): Lucia Marti (Puerto Rico)


Choose one of our subscription plans

Do you want to receive our newsletter?
Subscribe now